top of page
  • Writer's pictureJay

Biennial Adventures: Seeing What the City has to Offer Before it’s Gone

When going to a new city you want to see all the sights, but when living there you have time to see what tourists will never have the chance to!


A huge reason why I decided to study abroad in Liverpool was the art. Not only are the major museums here free, but during fall 2018, while I’m here, the city of Liverpool is celebrating their 10th biennial art show which takes place all over the city, including inside and near their most famous attractions. This is great because it brings me to most of the tourist spots but gives me something a little special to see while I’m there!


This year’s theme is “Beautiful World Where are You?” and the artists creating for it look at the world as it is now, messy but beautiful in its political, social, and economic instability. These installations take the form of performances, physical art, films, tours, and events which run for 15 weeks from July to the end of October through roughly 30 locations. There are free pamphlets available with details available on the biennial at nearly all exhibits, as well as an interactive website and social media accounts to get the information. Additionally, I found it valuable to subscribe to the email listing because it gave me insight to events going on every week while I’m here and included links to tickets where they were necessary to buy.



Most of the installations are free, the art is placed and you may go see it as long as it stands there. There’s a sculpture being installed at the Albert Docks, paintings hung in the Walker museum, and artistic benches near the Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral. All exhibits are easier to find as they are marked with the Biennial banner and often even have stickers on the floor to signify or even lead you to the piece.


It’s been exciting to see the art (there is a sculpture in St. George’s Hall where visitors are asked to throw rocks at metal sheets to interact with the work!) but it’s also been rewarding to spend a bit of money for the more exclusive biennial ongoings. Though I’ve only paid for one installation, it was well worth its £25.


This exhibit took the form of a facial, where the performer spoke from a memorized script as she gave me a cleansing facial and clay mask. Not only did their voice take me out of my head and into the mind of the artist (no small feat), but my mask was gently peeled back and added to a growing mountain which is becoming the art piece. I left there feeling more clear headed than I had in months, and I like knowing I’ve added my own piece to the work of art.

I was nervous to go, since I decided to buy my ticket alone and venture into the city. But, I found myself glad I gave myself time to explore the art and go through a renewal after the facial. Loitering home and stopping in for some bubble tea and into other installations in the area.



It’s important to take advantage of what’s there now, and sometimes going alone doesn’t mean you’ll be lonely but rather that you can move and absorb at your own pace. In a few days an installation is being unveiled in the city center, and I’m thinking I might make another solo trip. If you have things you want to do in your city, DO IT. Even if you can't find someone to come. It’s fun to have a friend, but if you can’t spend time with yourself it’s important to step back and reconnect with who you are. Don’t hold yourself back or you might miss a renewing experience.


I look forward to seeing more biennial pieces before the end of the month, and know some will be sticking around past October so plan to give myself the time to do so. For more pictures follow along on my instagram, @jay_sauer, or check out my newly added gallery!


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page