top of page
  • Writer's pictureJay

Getting Involved Abroad

Joining the community: taking something with you, leaving something behind


taken on campus on my way to the station; don't have to jump through hoops, but I do have to walk!

While you’re studying abroad, you’re thrown into a new ecosystem. One which already functions and flows at its own pace, and relies on a myriad of microorganisms you’ll never know in your short time there. At my home university I’m used to always being in the know and feeling like a part of the community due to its newsletters, posters, and more importantly my own strong social and professional connections to the student body.


When coming to my new campus, I knew I wouldn’t be able to have my ear to the ground as I’m used to, but I did want to feel like a part of it. In order to do this, I got involved. As any American university, institutions abroad have a plethora of organizations and activities students may join to expand on their interests, contribute to the campus and community, and find a group of like-minded individuals. In order to further explore my current interests at Liverpool Hope University, I joined two projects in my time here, I became an on-air DJ at THIS radio which is broadcasted from the university’s campus and I took part in a Service And Leadership Award (or SALA).


For the SALA award, I had to volunteer in the community for at least 10 hours, attend two character building workshops, and create an end of project reflection. This project allowed me to grow closer with other students pursuing the award as well as linked me to the community as I devoted my time to creating a better environment for them.


There were plenty of opportunities to volunteer, I spent some helping re-create a traditional Thanksgiving dinner in England to share some American culture and will be taking part in a netball tournament which is collecting money for charity. However, I was able to use my time DJing as volunteer hours as well, as the radio station here is a community program and unlike the radio station run from my university (WQSU at Susquehanna University) it’s a lot more talk-heavy so DJs have more time to create a connection with their listeners.



I was really fortunate to be connected with a co-host for my time here. Not only did this allow me more ease when it came to learning to work a new system and board, but it allowed me alloted time to grow with someone and bounce ideas. Together we created a show that teases upon our differences as an American and Brit, Molly seems to fit the quintessential British mold of a semi-grumpy but intelligent humor while I came in with my curious and joy-filled attitude. Together we examined differences in our cultures through foods, holidays, capitalism and more.


Though the only listener I was able to directly interact with was my mom (hi, mom!) I hope that other listeners were interested and amused by our internal examinations and unabashed critiques. Through joining the station, I was able to gain more of an understanding of British culture but was also able to lend my own skills, bringing my co-host out of her shell with our banter and showing her techniques I use at my own station to transition in and out of music and engage with the audience a bit on air.


I’m extremely happy that I took advantage of my time abroad to not just feel like a tourist but a part of a community and to assert myself as someone who can make some improvements for the better. I know I’ve learned a lot through my time working and volunteering with other people and am excited to go back to my campus to transfer these skills and to one day highlight the value of my study abroad to a future employer.


0 comments
bottom of page