top of page
  • Writer's pictureJay

Food Culture: Every Woman for Herself

Cooking, eating, and watching your weight and health.

Staying healthy doesn't have to be hard, just going on walks to explore my local parks and the city make me healthier and happier!

As a kid, I used to always add little items to my moms grocery lists: my favorite cookies, sugary cereal, and, specifically, green apples would nestle their way under my moms prim cursive. When I received more information on my trip to Liverpool, I was anxious to see I’d be on a limited meal plan and living away from campus and its dining facilities.


On campus all of my meals are catered by the school or, when I’m sick of Aramark, the local Panera and other restaurants. However, here I may eat lunch three to four times a week on campus, but every other meal I must make for myself in my dorm. The campus has some good options, with classic fish and chips and shepherd's pie on a rotational menu, noodle and sandwich stations, as well as a salad bar in the caf in addition to an American style restaurant with pizzas, burgers, and more. But when I go home, all I have is whatever I stocked in my cabinets.


My friends and I literally ate this cafe in Amsterdam out of their ham and cheese croissants...

This has caused me to evaluate my eating habits in a way I never had before, it also allowed me to control my food more than I have in the past. About once a week I’ll go to the local Tesco (reusable bags in tow as they charge you for grocery bags in Britain) with an increasingly familiar list of items to help me navigate the aisles. I’m able to pick some fresh veggies, stock up on fruit (my flatmates and I all chipped in for a blender so I can even make smoothies!), and then grab some basics and proteins to carry me through the week.



On campus I know I don’t always eat balanced, based off of what looks good (and doesn’t) in the caf and how much time I have to eat. But here, I can force myself to eat healthier by supplying my cabinets with the right food to enforce that behavior. I’ve found this increasingly important as I travel and end up indulging maybe a bit too much in their local cuisine.


Though I love cooking, it’s also a bit of a drag after a day of classes or when I have 3 items in my fridge and no motivation to go to the store. But, I’m responsible for ensuring my body gets the nutrients it needs, and I maintain my health and power my body. When I first came to England, I started losing a bit of weight due to a change in eating habits, increased exercise from walking around the city, and, most likely, from my lazy cooking methods that resulted in insubstantial meals.


In a temporary kitchen supplies are limited, so I made my shepherd's pie in a muffin tray! Now I can reheat one as a snack or use a few for a meal

Though I wasn’t upset to find my oversized sweaters got even cuddlier, I also wanted to be sure my body was changing in a healthy way, so I began to try and cook better. Pinterest has plenty of meal prep ideas for the week, and I have friends who have found that really helpful, but I didn’t have the discipline for it.


Instead, I found by stocking some basic items I could stretch them a long way. I buy frozen beef to use for meat sauces, tacos, and shepherd's pies; frozen veggies again for shepherd’s pie, fried rice, and as a side; I’ll buy a pack of chicken, cook and use it as my main, but also throw it in salad or cut it for sandwiches. There’s plenty of meals you can make by supplying yourself with a handful of ingredients, and investing in some spices will keep your food tasty and last you through the whole semester.


Find some easy recipes to make that you can fall back on and have a few under your belt before you’re totally reliant on yourself. I have a roommate that I’ve only ever seen make herself PB&J sandwiches, in order to get by she’ll occasionally team up with another girl in the hall on meals, which is a great idea as well, but it’s important to be able to provide for yourself and knowing how to cook will be a skill you’ll use for your whole life.


Lastly, it’s important to buy healthy and cook well, but make sure you’re getting some exercise too. Stay fit through walking, joining a local gym, or developing an exercise routine you can complete in your room. In order to be even more self aware, I’ve tried out some fitness apps, growing to love Samsung health but also really appreciating My Fitness Pal. Find out what works for you, everyone has a different routine and comfort zone but everyone only has one body to carry them through their life so watch out for it!


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page